Active Instructors

Dr. Jose Alonso

Jose Alonso

William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor, Plant and Microbial Biology

jmalonso@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 495/595: Synthetic Biology
Dr. Christopher Ashwell

Christopher M. Ashwell

Director, Office of Undergraduate Research

Professor of Animal Genomics

cmashwel@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 465/565: Real-time PCR
  • BIT 495/595: Developmental Biotechnology: Embryogenesis
Dr. Stefanie Chen

Stefanie Chen

Assistant Teaching Professor

Department of Biological Sciences

slchen2@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 100: Current Topics in Biotechnology
  • BIT 402/502: Networking and Professional Development
  • BIT 410/510: Manipulation of Recombinant DNA: Core Technologies in Molecular Biology
  • BIT 473/573: Protein Interactions
  • BIT 495/595: Directed Evolution
  • BIT 495/595: Virus Biotechnology: Pathogens to Therapeutics
  • BIT 501: Ethical Issues in Biotechnology
Dr. Carlos Goller

Carlos C. Goller

Associate Teaching Professor

Department of Biological Sciences

ccgoller@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 410/510: Manipulation of Recombinant DNA
  • BIT 477/577: Metagenomics
  • BIT 479/579: High-throughput Discovery
  • BIT 480/580: Yeast Metabolic Engineering
  • BIT 501: Ethical Issues in Biotechnology
Dr. Eva Johannes

Eva Johannes

Director, Cellular and Molecular Imaging Facility

eva_johannes@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 595: Confocal Microscopy
Dr. Robert Kelly

Robert M. Kelly

Director, NCSU Biotechnology Program

rmkelly@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 464/564: Protein Purification
  • BIT 815: Professional Development
  • BIT 815: Research Ethics
Dr. Eric Miller

Eric S. Miller

Professor, Plant and Microbial Biology

eric_miller@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 210: Phage Hunters
Dr. Paul Mozdziak

Paul E. Mozdziak

Professor, Prestage Poultry Science

pemozdzi@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 466/566: Animal Cell Culture Techniques
Dr. David Muddiman

David C. Muddiman

Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

david_muddiman@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 572: Proteomics
  • BIT 595 : Metabolomics and Fluxomics
Dr. James Petitte

James M. Petitte

Professor, Prestage Poultry Science

j_petitte@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 466/566: Animal Cell Culture Techniques
Dr. Antonio Planchart

Antonio Planchart

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

ajplanch@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 495/595: Gene Manipulation in Zebrafish
Dr. Jacob Dums

Jacob Dums

Teaching Postdoctoral Scholar, Biotechnology Teaching Program (BIT)

jtdums@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 410/510: Manipulation of Recombinant DNA: Core Technologies in Molecular Biology
  • BIT 100: Current Topics in Biotechnology
Dr. Arnab Sengupta

Arnab Sengupta

Teaching Postdoctoral Scholar, Biotechnology Teaching Program (BIT)

asengup4@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 410/510: Manipulation of Recombinant DNA: Core Technologies in Molecular Biology
  • BIT 495/595: RNA World
  • BIT 495/595: Genome Engineering: CRISPR Technology
Dr. Melissa Srougi

Melissa Srougi

Assistant Teaching Professor, Department Molecular and Biomedical Sciences

mcsrougi@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 100: Current Topics in Biotechnology
  • BIT 410/510: Manipulation of Recombinant DNA: Core Technologies in Molecular Biology
  • BIT 471/571: RNA interference & Model Organisms
Dr. Anna Stepanova

Anna Stepanova

Associate Professor, Plant and Microbial Biology

atstepan@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 4IT 495/595: Synthetic Biology
Dr. Ross Wheten

Ross Wheten

Professor, Forestry and Environmental Resources

ross_whetten@ncsu.edu

  • BIT 815: Deep Sequencing Analysis